Being Thrown Under the Bus at Work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being Thrown Under the Bus at Work

Who here has experienced it? I've had little things here and there, been burned a time or two, but currently going through a pretty irritating one

tl:dr: Manager got questions about time charged to the budget. Blamed me when she did nothing of value on the audit. I had LOTS AND LOTS of documentation and it turned into her getting a lengthy performance eval.

So, I had a few weeks open between Houston trips, so I got put on an audit with a Manager I've never worked with before. She was effectively worthless and did nothing on the project but insert herself as a bottleneck between myself and the client.

We were performing a vendor management audit, which is pretty straightforward stuff in our industry, but she seemed to have no idea what she was doing. She, essentially, told me she was busy and tasked me with putting together the audit plan and executing it, oh, and by the way, you get a resource for two weeks at about 20 hours a week, but coordinate with the resource and the other project managers to actually get her time. Mind you, none of this PM time was built in my budget...so, naturally, I eat this time because I don't have the budget for it.

Throughout the project, it was mayhem, unorganized nonsense. We randomly selected 50 vendors, with spend over $100K, to test the process. With a cursory overview of the support provided by the client, 50% of the selections failed out of the gate. That's without even testing the rest of them. What this means, is, there's no point in moving forward, the process is broken. You'd normally tell the client (which I wasn't allowed to do, cause all communication with the client was required to go through her) and then write up some recommendations and remediate the process and test again after they had a chance to implement.