Is there a TV Expert in the House?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there a TV Expert in the House?

Looking to buy a 60" Smart TV. I have to re-educate myself on televisions every 5+ years when I buy a TV. I would like to spend less than $1,000 this time around. Any suggestions?

The guy at Best Buy says I need a TV with at least 120Hz or sports are going to be sluggish. Is this just salesman BS? 60Hz televisions are about half the price of 120Hz televisions. Is there really that much difference?

I excitedly clicked on this thread thinking "FINALLY! Something I'm an expert at!!!"

But, NOOOOOOO!!! You want someone who knows about technology, not someone who is an expert at WATCHING TV!

Comment

Originally posted by Hawker007 View Post
      Looking to buy a 60" Smart TV. I have to re-educate myself on televisions every 5+ years when I buy a TV. I would like to spend less than $1,000 this time around. Any suggestions?

The guy at Best Buy says I need a TV with at least 120Hz or sports are going to be sluggish. Is this just salesman BS? 60Hz televisions are about half the price of 120Hz televisions. Is there really that much difference?
      If your eyes are capable of noticing a difference between 60Hz and 120Hz, then get the 120Hz, most people can't even tell. And "sluggish" would be the wrong adjective anyway, "choppy" would be the better word.

The real questions you need to be asking is do you want OLED , curved, 4k HD etc. Almost all are Smart TV's now.

Comment

I was shopping at Harrod's of London last week (#humblebrag) and saw some really impressive TVs in the £25,000 range. You should get one of those!

Comment

Is there a reason you are stuck on a 60" TV? 65" seems to be the sweet spot for size/price these days. Do you currently use any smart devices like a Roku or FireTV? You can get a heck of a lot of TV for $600ish.

ETA: the 120hz stuff is mostly salesman crap.

Comment