Common Law Lease Law

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Common Law Lease Law

If girl didn't sign a lease, but lived somewhere for ~6 months, is there some type of common law lease law?

minimum details to prevent bias: girl moved into a place, didn't sign a lease, roommate had two live in dogs, upon moving out, roommate is trying to hold girl liable for security deposit and charges (~$650)

is girl liable?

for clarification two characters: Roommate v Girl

GO!

Re: Common Law Lease Law

I'm no lawyer, but you don't collect the security deposit at the time of move out. That doesn't make any sense. If I am the girl, there is no way I pay a security deposit at this point. Unless the girl caused some damage, and she is trying to skip out on paying and leaving the roommate high and dry. Then that is just classless.

Comment

[img width=416 height=600]http://media.lawrence.com/img/photos/2011/01/15/ku_bkc_neb_11_t640.jpg?a6ea3ebd4438a44b86d2e9c39ec f7613005fe067[/img]

Comment

Roommate had live in dogs that damaged carpet in girl's room, prior to girl moving in...girl took the place of roommate 2 mid lease, but didn't ever sign a lease

Girl recently checked her credit report and the liability is outstanding on her report...apparently roommate provided creditors with girl's info

Comment

Is there a sink involved in this somehow? TIA

Comment

Common Law Lease Law

[quote author=kcjhawks4 link=topic=3230.msg36989#msg36989 date=1295366061]
            Is there a sink involved in this somehow? TIA
            [/quote]

No, but there is a cat who peed all over the carpet involved.

Comment

Haha, your bias is showing

Roommate in question had inside dogs that did their business in the house